Kaia is an almost four year-old rescue cat from Florida (Hurricane Michael). She is beautiful! She has always been kind of hyper (although she takes long naps like any cat and usually sleeps quietly through the night). She’s very playful and especially loves pouncing on light and shadow patterns on the floor or wall. She and my other cat aren’t pals—they basically ignore each other most of the time except for some sparring (Kaia is the aggressor) at mealtimes. Speaking of meals, Kaia has a great appetite and isn’t at all picky about food. She’s not scared of strangers, but nippy if not approached correctly when you want to pet her. (Under the right circumstances, she’ll let you pet her a lot, even on her stomach.)

 

Last summer Kaia was exhibiting some bizarre behavior—random growling, hissing, tail lashing, etc.—and my vet thought she might be in heat somehow (although she’s been spayed). They gave her a test for estrogen (?) and it was negative. She had some other tests, and they couldn’t figure out a physical reason for her behavior, so they suggested putting her on Prozac. This did calm her down, but after several months I noticed a change in her litter box habits—she would wait a long time and then often not defecate in the litter box. We switched to Valium, and then to Gabapentin, which she is currently on. She’s definitely mellower (wants to sit on my lap when I’m on the computer or watching TV) but the litter box problems continue. There have even been a few times when she has peed outside the litter box.

 

Everyone I’ve talked to about Kaia has said she may just want to be an outdoor cat again. I can’t have outdoor cats in my neighborhood, unfortunately. I would love to find a situation for her where she can be a little freer to express her wild side! Kaia is a great cat in so many ways, but I’ve made the decision that it would be best to find a new home for her. She is up to date on all her shots and flea medication.

Kaia is a 3rd party adoption cat! If you are interested in adopting Kaia, please call Eleanor at (802)343-9318. You may also email her at: elongbtv@myfairpoint.net

 

Kaia

  • Breed: DSH
  • Size: Medium
  • Age: 4
  • Gender: Female